What's a MOM to do?

Smoothies, another great way to use fresh fruit, especially if its overripe.

Posted on: July 10, 2009

My friend Alisa suggested I share my fruit smoothie recipe so here it is. Great as a meal or for a snack.

10 oz yogurt or kefir, plain or vanilla, (I do not use lowfat or skim, but this is personal preference)

1 Tbsp raw organic coconut oil (this makes it taste like a Pina Colada)

1 Tbsp flax seed oil

1 Whole raw high omega 3 egg (optional, but good for protein)

1-2 Cups fresh or frozen fruit (if fresh, add some ice to thicken smoothie)

1 Tbsp raw organic unheated honey

Dump all contents into a blender, mix and enjoy.

This recipe is adapted from The Maker’s Diet by Jordan Rubin, If you are interested in healthy, non processed, natural eating as I believe God intended, I would highly suggest the book Nourishing Traditions by Sally Fallon.(http://newtrendspublishing.com/SallyFallon/index.html)¬†Each page contains, in addition to a recipe, education and information about food and preparation and health. It is a fascinating read. Many of the ingredients are best found through local food co-ops and the Health Food grocery stores such as Whole Foods, Earth Fare and locally in Raleigh, Harmony Foods.

After my younger daughter’s long hospitalization and illness, I began a quest for ways to improve our family’s health. This lead me to these resources and include changes like not buying processed foods, shopping mainly the perimeter of the grocery store and not the aisles, grinding grain and making most of our bread at home, soaking grains and nuts and oatmeal before using and other techniques our ancestors used. I will share more of this in upcoming posts, email me or post a comment if there is something in particular you are interested in along these lines. Keep in mind that I am fairly new to this so you can learn along side me.

If you have other recipes or resources along these lines, please share here and I will post for the readers.

Thanks for reading and for your comments and suggestions.

Leave a Reply

Share this blog

Bookmark and Share

An Inspirational Storm Story: Charlotte Ruth

http://jenntousey.blogspot.com/2008/02/baby-girl-tousey.html

Christmas Card

Dazzle And Shine Christmas 5x7 folded card
View the entire collection of cards.
